31 August 2008

I AM Festival 2008

September 13 in New London, CT on the waterfront

Main Stage:
Jay Reatard, Kidz in the Hall, Martha Wainwright, Oakley Hall, Oneida, MT Bearington, Panda and Child, and Great Skaught

Other Stage:
Fatal Film, Suicide Dolls, Hand Grenade Serenade, Brava Spectre, Aeroplane 1929, and Thick Thieves

more info soon....

just lovely....

Fleet Foxes and Wilco together covering "I Shall be Released". It don't get much better than that.

11 February 2008

Take Away Annimal Collective

Another tops Take Away event from La Blogotheque featuring Animal Collective playing 'Taste' in Paris, France. The sonic textures are incomparable. The melodies are haunting. The band just continues to amaze.

10 February 2008

Nada Surf on Conan

Nada Surf have a new record, 'Lucky', out now on the super awesome indie Barsuk. The band played Conan recently offering up a first taste. Check out "Whose Authority":

09 February 2008

Rykodisc Celebrates 25 years

The fine folks over at Rykodisc have been re-issuing some of the finest records of our times for a quarter century. Their catalogue include works from diverse artists including Ali Farke Toure, Ry Cooder, Nick Drake, Richard and Linda Thompson, Kate and Anna McGarrigle, as well as more recent indie faves Flaming Lips, The Dead Milkmen, The Replacements and more. To celebrate their 25 years of good work the label will be offering five free downloads each month of 2008. All you have to do is head over here and register to start enjoying some of their excellent canon. Included in this batch are "Diarby", a track of Ali Farke Toure and Ry Cooder's excellent 'Talking Timbuktu', and 'Kulanjan', a Taj Mahal track from the album of the same name.

New Elf Power 'In A Cave'

The seminal E6 band Elf Power from Athens, Georgia have a new record prepped and ready to drop March 28, 2008 on Rykodisc titled 'In A Cave'. Andrew Reiger and crew have been turning out poignant folk rock with an elven edge for years with the help of a rotating cast of members from the Elephant 6 collective. Their last slab, 'Back to the Web', was excellent indeed and we're looking forward to hearing the new tracks soon. For now, you can hear the percolating "Paralyzed" over at Elf Power's myspace or hit youaintnopicasso to download the T Rex inspired 'Spiral Stairs'.